Lambda Literary Have Announced the 2019 Finalists

This year’s finalist were selected by a panel of over 60 literary professionals from over 1,000 book submissions from over 300 publishers. Finalists will be celebrated and winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony and Gala the evening of Monday, June 3, 2019 in New York City. For the full list of finalists, click here. For the full list of Graphic Novel finalists, see below.

This year, two Diamond publishers made the finalists lists with Love Letters to Jane's World from Lion Forge and The Pervert from Image Comics.

Love Letters to Jane's World is essential Jane's World collection, and debuted twenty years after Jane Wyatt first appeared in Paige Braddock's trailblazing comics strip about a young lesbian woman making her clumsy way in the world and the friends who help (or hinder) her along the journey. The Eisner-nominated Jane's World was the first syndicated comic strip with a lesbian main character to appear in many major newspaper markets. This new volume collects the most quintessentially "Jane" storylines from the strip's early, middle, and later years, and pairs them with "love letters" and notes of appreciation from notable fans. To read Lambda Literary's review of the book, click here.

With excerpts published in Eisner nominated anthology ISLAND, the full colour volume, drawn and painted by Remy Boydell is an unflinching debut graphic novel and written by Michelle Perez, The Pervert is an honest and touching account of a trans girl surviving through sex work in Seattle. Library Journal called it, "A challenging, intense, and empathic account of finding oneself despite heavy odds."

LGBTQ Graphic Novels Finalists

  • Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles, Mark Russell (Writer), Sean Parsons, Mark Morales, Howard Porter, Mike Feehan (Illustrators), DC Entertainment
  • The Lie and How We Told It, Tommi Parrish, Fantagraphics Books
  • Love Letters to Jane’s World, Paige Braddock, Lion Forge
  • On a Sunbeam, Tillie Walden, First Second / Roaring Brook Press
  • Our Wretched Town Hall, Eric Kostiuk Williams, Retrofit Comics & Big Planet Comics
  • The Pervert, Michelle Perez (Writer), Remy Boydell (Illustrator), Image Comics
  • Unpacking, Steve MacIsaac, Northwest Press
  • We’re Still Here: An All-Trans Comics Anthology, Jeanne Thornton & Tara Madison Avery, Stacked Deck Press