2018 Harvey Awards Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

Named for the legendary cartoonist and editor Harvey Kurtzman and celebrating its historic 30th anniversary in 2018, the awards shine a spotlight on the best & brightest, helping new readers, current fans, booksellers, retailers and librarians distinguish the best comics of the year as voted on by their peers. This year’s nominees have been selected by a handpicked contingent of industry voices and voted on by qualifying professionals.

Nominees for the 2018 Harvey Awards were announced on August 9. Yesterday, the Harvey Awards revealed the newest inductees to the Harvey Awards Hall of Fame: artists Dave Gibbons and Roz Chast.

Dave Gibbons is best known for his work with Alan Moore on their seminal DC graphic novel Watchmenit was at the very first Harvey Awards ceremony in 1988 that Gibbons and Moore won a slew of awards for the now-iconic superhero tale. The book has become one of the most prolific works in the industry and is still held in high regard today. Gibbons has also provided the art for several other iconic comics in his time, including Green LanternGive Me Liberty and Kingsman.

Rosalind “Roz” Chast began working as a cartoonist for The New Yorker in 1978 and has published over 800 cartoons for the magazine. Roz is also a National Cartoonist Society’s Reuben Award recipient.

Along with the two Hall of Fame inductees, artist Harold Sakuishi will receive the International Spotlight Award for his contributions to Japanese manga. He is best known for his indie-rock inspired titled BECK, published in English by Kodansha Comics.

Finally, the Harvey Awards revealed that Jackie Estrada will be receiving the first-ever Comics Industry Pioneer honor for her controbutions to the comic book industry. Jackie has been advocating comics and their creators since the first San Diego Comic-Con international and has released books featuring photos comics creators, been involved in the now-defunct Friends of Lulu organization and is an administrator for the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards.

The full Harvey Awards ceremony will debut at New York Comic Con on October 5. For a full list of the Harvey Award nominees, see below.

This year's awards features an all-new, shortened list of categories:

Book of the Year

Black Hammer: Secret Origins by Jeff Lemire, Dean Ormston and Dave Stewart (Dark Horse)
Boundless by Jillian Tamaki (Drawn and Quarterly)
Everything is Flammable by Gabrielle Bell (Uncivilized Books)
Hostage by Guy Delisle (Drawn and Quarterly)
Kindred by Octavia E. Butler, adapted by Damian Duffy and illustrated by John Jennings (Abrams ComicArts)
Lighter Than My Shadow by Katie Green (Lion Forge)
Monstress by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda (Image)
My Favorite Thing is Monsters by Emil Ferris (Fantagraphics)
Roughneck by Jeff Lemire (Gallery 13)
Shade The Changing Girl by Cecil Castellucci and Marley Zarcone (DC Comics)
Spinning by Tillie Walden (First Second)
The Best We Could Do by Thi Bui (Abrams Books)
The Customer is Always Wrong by Mimi Pond (Drawn and Quarterly)
The Flintstones by Mark Russell and Steve Pugh (DC Comics)
The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang (First Second)

Digital Book of the Year

Bandette by Paul Tobin and Colleen Coover (Monkeybrain)
Barrier by Brian K. Vaughn, Marcos Martin and Muntsa Vicente (Panel Syndicate)
Check, Please!: #Hockey by Ngozi Ukazu (checkpleasecomic.com)
Not Drunk Enough by Tessa Stone (ndecomic.com)
The Tea Dragon Society by Katie O’Neill (teadragonsociety.com)

Best Children or Young Adult Book

Brave by Svetlana Chmakova (JY)
Real Friends by Shannon Hale and LeUyeun Pham (First Second)
Spinning by Tillie Walden (First Second)
The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang (First Second)
The Tea Dragon Society, by Katie O’Neill (Oni Press)

Best Adaptation from a Comic Book/Graphic Novel

Atomic Blonde (Focus Features) – Directed by David Leitch. Adapted from “The Coldest City” (Oni Press)
Black Panther (Walt Disney Pictures) – Directed by Ryan Coogler. Adapted from “Black Panther” (Marvel Comics)
The LEGO Batman Movie (Warner Bros.) – Directed by Chris McKay. Adapted from “Batman” (DC Comics)
Logan (20th Century Fox) – Directed by James Mangold. Adapted from “Wolverine” (Marvel Comics)
My Friend Dahmer (FilmRise) – Directed by Marc Meyers. Adapted from “My Friend Dahmer” (Abrams ComicArts)
Preacher (AMC) – Developed by Sam Catlin, Seth Rogen, Evan Goldberg. Adapted from “Preacher” (DC/Vertigo)
Riverdale (The CW) – Developed by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa. Adapted from “Archie” (Archie Comics)
The End Of The F***Ing World (Netflix) – Written by Charlie Covell. Adapted from “The End of the F***ing World” (Fantagraphics)
Thor: Ragnarok (Walt Disney Pictures) – Directed by Taika Waititi. Adapted from “Thor” (Marvel Comics)
Wonder Woman (Warner Bros.) – Directed by Patty Jenkins. Adapted from “Wonder Woman” (DC Comics)

Best Manga

My Brother’s Husband by Gengoroh Tagame Anne Ishii (Pantheon Graphic Library)
My Hero Academia by Kohei Horikoshi (Viz Media)
My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness by Nagata Kabi (Seven Seas)
Tokyo Ghoul by Sui Ishida (Viz Media)
Your Name by Makoto Shinkai and Ranmaru Kotone (Yen Press)

Best European Book

Audubon: On The Wings of the World by Fabien Grolleau and Jerémie Royer (Nobrow)
California Dreamin’: Cass Elliot Before The Mamas & The Papas by Pénélope Bagieu (First Second)
Flight of the Raven by Jean-Pierre Gibrat (IDW)
The Ghost of Gaudi by El Torres and Jesús Alonso Iglesias (Lion Forge)
The Ladies in Waiting by Santiago García and Javier Olivares (Fantagraphics)